Souvlaki Marinade

Do you enjoy eating Souvlaki when you are out? I love it!!

You can have that same great flavour at home! On days when I am very organized, (okay that is not very often), I will even cut up and marinate my meat, then pack it right into the freezer. Hmm, I really should do that more often. I makes everything easier.. You should marinate your meat for at least 8 hours or over night…

Souvlaki Marinade

This marinade is for approximately one pound of chicken or pork.

1/4 c. olive oil
1/4 c. lemon juice
3 cloves garlic- minced
2 tsp. basil
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp sea salt (optional)

Mix all the ingredients together in a zippered bag or glass container and add meat. Refrigerate for a minimum of 30 minutes, but all day gives a nicer flavour.
Cook meat thoroughly.

** If you are making meat sticks/ kabobs then cut your meat into cubes before marinating.

Shared on: BBQ Recipes, 5 Ingredient Mondays, Food On Friday

5 thoughts on “Souvlaki Marinade

  1. Tried this recipe this past weekend – takes no time at all to whip up and IS TO DIE FOR! We left the chicken to marinade for about 40 mins and was soo good!!!

Leave a comment