Basic Bread (Gluten Free/ Yeast Free/ Dairy Free/ Refined Sugar Free)

This is the first sandwich that I have had and “enjoyed” in over 2 1/2 years! (I have had many since)

Basic Bread
I have been trying to make a basic bread recipe for over two years. I would make several loaves, fail miserably, and throw them away. (Alright, after a while I started putting it through the food processor and making bread crumbs)

I was never satisfied with the bread that I ended up with. It was the same as the frozen gluten free/ yeast free stuff you can buy in the stores.  I had truly missed the taste of yeast filled bread.

Over the last few weeks I have had many people email me asking where my bread recipe was.
Hmm… Okay, so back to the drawing board.

After making approximately ten loaves of bread this week, I have made a very decent bread. (yes I say decent because I am still yearning for yeast bread)

033
I was very excited to see this bread and even more excited after I ate it.
Its light and fluffy. Such a nice change.
Possibilities are endless as to what I can eat and take in my lunch now.

Basic Bread 

1 1/2 c. gluten free flour mix
1/2 c. sorghum flour
1 tsp. xanthan gum
1/4 c. ground flax
5 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. sea salt

5 eggs
1/3 c. coconut oil- melted
1/2 c. water
2 Tbsp. Bragg’s apple cider vinegar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
In a medium bowl, whisk together flours, xanthan gum, flax, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
Set aside.
In another bowl, beat the five eggs, then add coconut oil, water, and vinegar. Beat well.
Add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Mix well. Pour batter into greased 5 by 7 inch loaf pan.
Makes one loaf.

028
Bake for 35-40 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

034

This bread will stay nicely wrapped in plastic on the counter for about three days.
( If it stays around that long) 
It freezes well, but you may want to slice it, then freeze it.

Makes one loaf.

 Shared On: http://poorandglutenfree.blogspot.ca/2013/04/waste-not-want-not-wednesday-25.html, Lunch Box Love

10 thoughts on “Basic Bread (Gluten Free/ Yeast Free/ Dairy Free/ Refined Sugar Free)

  1. I am looking forward to trying this!

    Are you allergic to yeast? I found a good paleo bread recipe that has yeast in it. (I don’t eat grains and am quite certain that I’m extremely gluten intolerant.)

Leave a Reply

