Basil Pesto ( Dairy Free)

Two flavours that I absolutely love together are basil and garlic! They seem to enhance the flavour of so many recipes. After I had to be dairy free, I realized that Pesto was definitely something that I would figure out how to make. Now I enjoy it all year round!

2 c. basil leaves
3 cloves garlic
1/4 c. pine nuts or walnuts
1/4-1/2 c. olive oil

Put basil, garlic cloves and pine nuts into the food processor; pulse, adding olive oil a little at a time.
Add enough oil for paste consistency.

I freeze in ice cube trays; then keep in a ziploc bag. ( Have a separate tray because it will take on the garlic flavour)
Then I just use a cube or two in recipes.
* I have used half basil and half parsley and it works great.
*I have usually use walnuts in place of pine nuts; much less expensive and tastes fine.

Leave a Reply

